• Lakeside Drive Pond - Statesville, NC
  • Carolina Balloon Fest - Statesville, NC
  • Christmas Lights in downtown Mooresville
  • Runners
  • Iredell County countryside in spring
  • Iredell County countryside in summer
  • Lake Norman
  • Lake Norman fall colors
  • Union Grove Milling Co. - Union Grove, NC
  • Downtown Statesville, NC
Skip Navigation LinksHome > Departments > Register of Deeds Wednesday, August 20, 2014
Register of Deeds Links

 

Historical Information

 

Newsletters

Iredell County Register of Deeds

 

Search Online Records

Purchase a Birth, Marriage or Death Certificate Online

 


Matt McCall, register of Deeds
Matt McCall,
Register of Deeds
Welcome to the Iredell County Register of Deeds website. The purpose of this site is to help our customers find the information they need in a user friendly manner.  On this site you will find an online database containing public records such as deeds, deeds of trust, powers of attorney, plats and other documents dating back to the 1700s.  These real estate documents are public record and available online.  To search, view and print these records, please visit our online document search above.  We also issue marriage licenses, certified birth certificates, death certificates, military discharges and administer oaths to notaries. 

It is my goal to continue to bring new technology to help give our customers the information they need quickly and easily.  Please call me or my staff if you need help or have questions.  By North Carolina law, this office can not prepare or assist with the preparation of legal documents.

 

Thank you,

Matthew J. McCall
Register of Deeds
mmccall@co.iredell.nc.us
View Matt McCall's profile on LinkedIn

 

Budget
Budget
Documents Filed
Documents Filed
Revenue
Revenue
Vitals
Vitals

 


Marriage License Requirements

Congratulations on your upcoming marriage!  In order to get married, a couple must obtain a marriage license before their marriage ceremony.  Once issued, a marriage license is good for use anywhere in North Carolina for 2 months.  The license must be returned (mail or in person) to the Register of Deeds office it was issued from within 10 days of the marriage ceremony. 

Both applicants are required to appear in person at the Statesville or Mooresville Register of Deeds office to receive a marriage license.  The process usually takes less than 30 minutes.  Marriage licenses are issued between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, excluding holidays.  The state fee for a marriage license is $60. You may prepay an additional $10 to receive a marriage certificate via mail after returning the license after your ceremony.  Brides will need a marriage certificate to change their last name.  Only cash, debit/credit cards or money order are accepted. The premarital physical is no longer required. 

To save time, applicants can submit their personal information here.  Please do not submit your information more than 2 weeks before coming to the office or it will be bumped from the system. Both bride and groom must present photo identification along with proof of their social security number.

Acceptible ID:

  • Driver's license (may not be expired)
  • State Issued I.D. Card (may not be expired)
  • Passport (may not be expired). If you are not a US Citizen, you will need a valid passport for identification.
  • United States Military I.D.

Acceptable proof of social security number*:

  • Social Security Card
  • W-2
  • Some other reasonable proof (please call)

*Note: An alien admitted to the United States for permanent residence or to engage in employment must be issued a Social Security number. Applicants who are not eligible for a Social Security number may obtain a marriage license by signing an affidavit attesting to this fact. The affidavit is available in the Register of Deeds office.

Divorced applicants must provide the month and year of their last divorce. If the divorce was granted within 30 days from the date of applying for the license, the applicant must provide an original or certified copy of the divorce decree.  There is no waiting period between the divorce and applying for the new license.

In addition to photo ID, applicants 16 or 17 years of age must have certified copies of their birth certificate and written parental consent by a parent having full or joint legal custody of the underage party; or by a person, agency, or institution having legal custody or serving as a guardian of the underage party. The Parental Consent Form is available in the Register of Deeds office. Applicants over age 14 and under 16 must attain a Court Order by District Court Judge authorizing the marriage. Applicants under age 14 are unlawful to marry.

Please note, if you want to get married at the courthouse, marriage ceremonies are only performed in Statesville. You will need to bring 2 witnesses and an additional $20 cash to pay for the ceremony. The magistrates’ office only performs marriages between 9-3pm Monday through Friday and 10-2pm on Saturday (Saturday ceremonies are only available to county residents). They can be reached at 704-832-6619.

If you need a marriage certificate, it can be obtained at our office in person or you may request them by the form found on this website.

 

UCC (Uniform Commercial Code) Information

Effective July 1, 2001 all UCC's are to be recorded in the Secretary of States office, except Fixture Filings which are recorded locally.

All UCC's fees are $38.00 for the 1st two pages
3 -10 pages $45.00
Over 10 pages $45.00 plus $2.00 for each page over 10

Checks should be made payable to: Iredell County Register Of Deeds

Our Mailing Address is: 201 East Water Street, Statesville, NC 28677

Fee Schedule (Set by General Statutes)

Recording Real Estate Instruments:  
  • Instruments in general (excluding deeds of trust and mortgages)
$26 first 15 pages;
$4 ea. add’l page
  • Deeds of trust and mortgages
$56 first 15 pages;
$4 ea. add’l page
  • Plats
$21 ea. sheet
  • Satisfaction instruments
No fee
  • Documents containing multiple instruments
Additional $10
  • Documents that are non standard (margins, two sided, etc)
Additional $25
  • Add’l subsequent instrument index reference on Assignments, each
Additional $10

UCC Records

 
  • One or two pages in writing
$38
  • More than two pages in writing
$45 up to 10 pages;
$2 ea. page over 10
  • Filed electronically if permitted
$30
  • Response to written request for information
$38
  • Response to electronic request if permitted
$30
  • Copy of statement
$2 ea. page

Marriage Licenses

 
  • Marriage license
$60
  • Delayed marriage certificate, with one certified copy
$20
  • Application or license correction with one certified copy
$10
  • Marriage license certified copy
$10

Other Records

 
  • Recording military discharge
No fee
  • Military discharge certified copy as authorized
No fee
  • Birth certificate certified copy
$10
(register may waive for person over 62 years old)  
  • Death certificate certified copy
$10
  • Birth record amendment
$35
  • Death record amendment
$35
  • Legitimations   
$35
  • Delayed Births
$35
  • Certified copies unless statute otherwise provides
$5 first page;
$2 ea. add’l page
  • Uncertified copies
$0.10

Other Services

 
  • Notary public oath
$10
  • Comparing copy for certification
$5
   

E-Recording

The Iredell Register of Deeds office accepts electronically submitted documents for recording. If you are interested in submitting real estate documents electronically to the Register of Deeds, you will first need to contact one of the following vendors: EDL, Simplifile, INGEO or Indecomm. Your chosen vendor will assist you in setting up an account and handling funds. You will then obtain a Memorandum Of Understanding that will need to be signed and faxed to us. You will then be assigned an account number with Iredell County as a submitter. Please contact Deputy Jennifer Combs if you have questions. You may immediately begin e-recording after your account number is established.

E-Recording

 

 

Notary Applications

The Register of Deeds office administers notary public oaths for Iredell County notaries anytime between 8:00AM and 5:00PM, Monday through Friday.   Also, the office has a variety of notary forms available to the General public, including reappointment and change of Name/Change of Address.

 

Sole Proprietorship:
When starting a new business, it is required by law that you file an Assumed Name Certificate/DBA when creating a Sole Proprietorship or Partnership.  A sole proprietorship, also known as the sole trader or simply a proprietorship, is a type of business entity that is owned and run by one individual and in which there is no legal distinction between the owner and the business. The owner receives all profits (subject to taxation specific to the business) and has unlimited responsibility for all losses and debts. Every asset of the business is owned by the proprietor and all debts of the business are the proprietor's. Individuals creating a Sole Proprietorship or Partnership can do so with the form found above.  After completing this form, the fee to record is $26. Business checks and cash only are accepted for recording.

For information about filing taxes for a sole proprietorship or starting a new business, you may want to visit the IRS’s website here.  

 

Corporate Assumed Name Form:
If you have already created a Corporation, LLC, LLP or other entity and wish to do business under another assumed or fictitious name, you will need to use a Corporate Assumed Name Certificate.  When filling out this document, keep in mind that Company A is Doing Business As (DBA) Company B.  Company A is the owner of Company B.  The cost to record an Assumed Name Certificate is $26.

Our office handles filings for sole proprietorships, partnerships, and corporations doing business under an assumed name.  The NC Secretary of State’s office is responsible for filing documents creating LLCs, Corporations etc.  Their site might be helpful in establishing one of these entities.

 

Legal documents found in Iredell County
Register of Deed’s office.

Births:Records from 1913 to present date.  Records for persons born in Iredell County only.
Marriage: Records from 1893 to present date. 
Deaths: Records from 1913 to present date.   Records for persons deceased in Iredell County only.
Deeds: Records from 1788 to present.  Prior records recorded in Rowan County.
Deeds of Trust
UCC (Uniform Commercial Code) Fixture Filings only
Notary Public: Signature and expiration date on file for Iredell County only.
Plats
Right of Ways
Powers of Attorney
Separation Agreements
Military Discharges
Restrictions
Various Miscellaneous Documents

Wills are kept with the Iredell County Clerk of Court (704) 832-6600